Department of Labor and Regulation

Title - South Dakota Cosmetology Commission


Individual Licenses
Salon/Booth Licenses
Expired Licenses
Continuing Education Requirements

When renewing your license(s), remember:

  • The expiration date is printed on the license.
  • License fees are non-refundable.
  • Fees changed January 1, 2008.
  • The lower part of the license is the renewal form for the upcoming year.
  • Make any name or address changes on the form.

Log in to renew your license online.

If you prefer to renew your license by mail, complete the form on the lower part of your old license and return it to the Commission office with a check or money order made payable to "State Cosmetology Commission."

South Dakota Cosmetology Commission
500 East Capitol
Pierre, SD 57501

Note: Visit our Forms page for the License Renewal Form if you have lost the renewal form on your current license and wish to renew by mail.

back to top

Individual Licenses

The fee for cosmetologist, nail technician and esthetician license renewals is $20; for instructor license renewal, it is $25.

Cosmetologist, nail technician, esthetician and instructor licenses are due for renewal on or before the licensee's birth date. If postmarked or paid after the birth date, a $20 penalty fee is charged.

All senior instructors must attend 12 clock hours of a Commission-approved course annually in order to renew their license.

Salon/Booth Licenses

The Salon/Booth license renewal fee is $35.00 and is due on or before the opening (anniversary) date. If postmarked or paid after the opening date, a $20 penalty fee is charged.

back to top

Expired Licenses

If your license expired less than five years ago, you must pay the renewal fee for each year it was expired and a $20.00 penalty fee for each year it was expired.

If your license expired more than five years ago, you must pay the renewal and penalty fees described above and either:

  • take the state boards (theory, practical and state laws/rules exams)
  • attend a pre-approved review course of two or more hours, covering South Dakota laws, rules, safety and sanitation procedures, and pass a 25-point open-book written examination

To find a review course, contact a cosmetology school or the Commission. We offer a review course taught by the cosmetology inspector in your area. The course costs $50.00.

Continuing Education Requirements

Continuing education is required for the instructor licenses. It is also required for any licensee who wishes to provide microdermabrasion or electric nail filing services.

back to top

*Opening and printing Adobe .pdf files requires Adobe Acrobat Reader. Click here as needed to download the free Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Marcia Hultman, Secretary
123 W. Missouri Ave.
Pierre, SD 57501-4505
Tel. 605.773.3101
Fax. 605.773.6184